Sr. Cebula elected president of Clinton Franciscans

Sr. Cebula
Sr. Cebula

Sister Jan Cebula, OSF, has been elected president of the Sisters of St. Francis in Clinton. The 54 members of the congregation reached their decision July 14 during an election held at The Canticle, motherhouse of the Clinton Franciscans. Sr. Cebula previously served as the congregation’s president from 2004-2012.
The election is one component of Chapter, a week-long gathering of the Sisters of St. Francis of Clinton and their Sojourners and Associates. Chapter 2016, held July 9-15, was described by its facilitator, Sister Barbara Standbridge, IHM, as “A time when sisters and others come together to have deep conversations about their life and their future.” Sr. Standbridge is a member of the Immaculate Heart of Mary Sisters, Monroe, Mich. She participated in the conversations among the sisters and remarked, “I have a deep respect for their commitment to active nonviolence.”
Also part of Chapter 2016, an appreciation dinner was held July 11 to honor the current leaders. The Clinton Franciscans acknowledged the dedication of Sister Anne Martin Phelan, president; Sister Eileen Golby, vice president; Sister Gael Gensler, councilor; Sister Martinelle Bonnell, canonical councilor; and Sister Ruth E. Westmoreland, canonical councilor.
Currently, Sr. Cebula is the U.S. Liaison for Global Sisters Report, a project of National Catholic Reporter. She will begin her role as president in the coming months. Also serving in leadership are Sister Marilyn Huegerich, who was elected first councilor, and Sister Kathleen Holland, who was elected second councilor. The date the newly elected members will take office has not been determined.
To cap off Chapter 2016 and to celebrate their 150-year anniversary, the Sisters of St. Francis hosted a Lumberkings baseball game July 17.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Posted on